Upcoming Events

2024 FALL WATERFOWL VIEWING DAY

2024 FALL WATERFOWL VIEWING DAY

October 05th

The 2024 Fall Waterfowl Viewing Day will be held from 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. at Mission Island Marsh Conservation Area on Saturday, October 5. Join the LRCA and local expert birder Brian Ratcliff as we guide participants around the Conservation Area in search of migratory birds. No experience is necessary! Be sure to dress appropriately as this event runs rain-or-shine. Be sure to bring your binoculars, cameras and field guides.

This free event is generously sponsored by Ontario Power Generation.

OPG logo_CMYK_NewGreen.jpg

2024 WATERSHED EXPLORER PROGRAMS

2024 WATERSHED EXPLORER PROGRAMS

October 03rd

The LRCA is proud to once again offer our Watershed Explorer Programs, thanks to the continued generous support of the TD Friends of the Environment Foundation.

Join the LRCA and special guests on a series of expert-led guided hikes at several different Conservation Areas. Our Watershed Explorer Programs are geared toward older learners ages 16+, but everyone is welcome.

The tentative programming dates, topics, locations and times are as follows:

  • Friday, April 19 - Owl Prowl @ Hazelwood Lake
  • Thursday, May 16 - Frogs & Amphibians @ Mills Block
  • Thursday, May 23 - Birding for Beginners @ LRCA Administrative Office
  • Thursday, May 30 - Invasive Aquatic Species: Learn from a Lamprey! @ Neebing Weir
  • Thursday, June 20 - Spring Photography Workshop @ Fisherman's Park West
  • Thursday, June 27 - Pollinators & Plants @ LRCA Administrative Office
  • Thursday, July 25 - Nature Journaling @ LRCA Administrative Office
  • Wednesday, September 11 - Neebing Birding Day
  • Thursday, September 19 - Trees & Fall Colours @ Wishart
  • Thursday, September 26 - Fall Photography Workshop @ Hazelwood lake
  • Thursday, October 3 - Archaeology @ LRCA Administrative Office

NOTE: Event dates, times and topics are subject to change and/or cancellation. 

REGISTER NOW!