About the LRCA

In 1941, the region was hit by a fierce storm, which caused extensive flooding on the Neebing River. The floodwaters rose to the point where they overflowed into the McIntyre River. In an attempt to deal with flooding problems, the Neebing Valley Conservation Authority (NVCA) was created in 1954. In 1963, as a result of expansion, the NVCA became the Lakehead Region Conservation Authority (LRCA).

Over the years, the role of the LRCA has evolved. The LRCA is a community-based environmental agency that provides value-added services to our watershed residents. We are responsible for the wise management of renewable natural resources in our watershed. Conservation Authorities undertake a broad range of programs, including: watershed management, erosion control, flood forecasting & warning, recreation, water level monitoring, plan input & review, environmental education and stewardship. We improve quality of life by actively providing Conservation Areas for semi-passive recreation and environmental education opportunities.

For over six decades the LRCA has been working towards conservation excellence through our various programs and initiatives, and we will continue to do so.


The Lakehead Region Conservation Authority respectfully acknowledges that the lands on which we live and work are the traditional lands of the Anishinabek Nation and the traditional territory of Fort William First Nation, signatory to the Robinson-Superior Treaty of 1850.

As partners in the conservation and protection of the Lakehead Watershed along with First Nations communities, the Métis Nation of Ontario, and other Indigenous peoples, the LRCA is committed to the common vision of a healthy, safe and sustainable Lakehead Watershed.


A healthy, safe and sustainable Lakehead Watershed for future generations.


To lead the conservation and protection of the Lakehead Watershed.


Conservation Authorities, created in 1946 by an Act of the Provincial Legislature, are mandated to ensure the conservation, restoration and responsible management of Ontario's water, land and natural habitats through programs that balance human, environmental and economic needs.

The purpose of the Conservation Authorities Act is to provide for the organization and delivery of programs and services that further the conservation, restoration, development and management of natural resources in watersheds in Ontario. 

Founding Principles

Conservation Authorities are based on three fundamental principles:

  • Municipal and Provincial partnership
  • Local initiative and involvement
  • Management of renewable natural resources on a watershed basis


  • To ensure that Ontario's rivers, lakes and streams are properly safeguarded, managed and restored
  • To protect, manage and restore Ontario's woodlands, wetlands and natural habitats
  • To develop and maintain programs that will protect life and property from natural hazards, such as flooding and erosion
  • To provide opportunities for the public to learn from, to enjoy and respect Ontario's natural environment


Water is essential to human health, important in economic development and vital to all living things. Water links all components of the environment and is a major force in shaping the landscape. We operate on a watershed basis because it treats natural systems as an entire unit.


Our integrated approach to resource management leads to a wide range of programs and projects, which are aimed at keeping our watersheds healthy. We improve quality of life by actively providing open space and protecting life and property from flooding and erosion, as well as restoring and conserving aquatic and natural habitats. In addition to serving our watershed residents, we also provide advice and counsel to all levels of government on the responsible management of water.


Comes from several sources: the Province of Ontario; member municipalities; fund-raising and; user fees. In addition, community groups and other agencies, including the federal government, provide funding for special projects.

Conservation Authorities

There are 36 Conservation Authorities across Ontario, including five in Northern Ontario. For more information, please see The Conservation Authorities Act.

Area of Jurisdiction

The LRCA Area of Jurisdiction includes: City of Thunder Bay, Municipalities of Neebing, Shuniah and Oliver Paipoonge and the Townships of Conmee, O’Connor, Gillies and Dorion. The Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry is responsible for areas outside the jurisdiction of the Authority.