

## For Release – Tuesday, November 27, 2007 COMMITTEE SET TO PLAN MUNICIPAL DRINKING WATER PROTECTION

The Lakehead Source Protection Authority has appointed the nine voting Members of the Lakehead Source Protection Committee after a review of applications from a publicly advertised process. The Committee by Regulation of the "Clean Water Act" has equal representation across three defined sectors: "Municipal", "Industry/Economic" and "Public & Other Interests".

The Municipal representatives on the Lakehead Source Protection Committee are Ken McWhirter and James Vukmanich from the City of Thunder Bay and Veikko Long from Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge. Municipal Members were selected from the two Municipalities with Municipal residential drinking water systems.

The three Members named from the "Economic and Industry" Sector are Guy Jarvis of the Thunder Bay Port Authority (Marine and Terrestrial Ground Transportation), Hartley Multamaki from Buchanan Forest Products (Forest Industry) and Bernie Kamphof of the Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition (Agriculture).

The "Public and Other Interests" Sector will be represented by Robert Stewart, Ph. D., from Lakehead University (Education), Paul McAlister, R.P.F., (Tourism) and Ross Chuchman (General Public). To date, the Fort William First Nation has not put a name forward to participate on the Lakehead Source Protection Committee.

The Committee will also include three non-voting Liaison Members. Mervi Henttonen, General Manager of Lakehead Region Conservation Authority was named to represent the Lakehead Source Protection Authority. The Ministry of Environment will appoint a public health representative from the Thunder Bay District Health Unit and an Ontario Government representative.

The Lakehead Source Protection Committee is one of 19 Committees established across the province on a watershed basis to prepare local Source Protection Plans. The sciencebased plan will protect the sources of the two Municipal residential drinking water systems in the Lakehead Source Protection Area that service the City of Thunder Bay and Rosslyn Village. The multi-stakeholder Committee will hold their first meeting on December 5 under the direction of the Committee Chair, Bob Hartley, who was appointed to the position by the Minister of Environment in August. The process is expected to take three-to-five years to complete.

-30-Bill Bartley, Chair of Lakehead Source Protection Authority 807-344-5857 or www.sourceprotection.net